Am I the Only one?

Today when we where at the park a little boy ran into me.  No big deal right?  Little kids get excited at the park and don’t always watch where they are going.  Not the case here friends, this kid ran into me because he was walking while playing a game on his iPhone.  A 4 year playing games on HIS. OWN. iPHONE.  There are so many things wrong with this situation.  First of all why does a 4 year old need an iPhone? I don’t even have an iPhone.  Second, we are outside at a park for God’s sake, why is the kid playing games on the phone?  And do you know what ticked me off even more than the other stuff I stated???  The kid did not even look up when he bumped into me, he didn’t even grunt.  He just walked around me!

Am I the only one that thinks it’s crazy for preschoolers to have high dollar gadgets?  I mean I am not against parents having some kids apps on their phone.  I have 2 kid’s apps on my tablet for Gabe (You will notice I said tablet because it’s not an iPad, it’s a cheap  moderately priced and totally awesome tablet.)  I allow him to use it when I have time to sit next to him and make sure he doesn’t drop it, spill something on it, or otherwise break it.  Honestly he does a great job using it, in fact he caught on much faster than I did!  That said there is no way he will be getting one or anything like it anytime soon.   I don’t even like him to walk around talking on my cellphone for fear of him dropping it.  Am I just a super uptight mom?  I know that soon enough both my kids will be begging for phones, laptop, and a car because all the other kids have them; I just didn’t think it would be so soon.  (I though I might make it at least until the 3rd grade.)

Tell me, am I the only one that feels this way?

 

 

6 thoughts on “Am I the Only one?

  1. Lola is a savant when it comes to DH’s iPhone, I swear. That said- NO. I will NOT succumb to the pressure to give my kid a cell phone when they’re way too young.
    I hope.
    We all lived just fine without them!

  2. No, my kiddo has never touched any of our phones, isn’t allowed on our computers. Not only are they too expensive for them and can easily break, but I don’t like giving my kids too much screen time. I already see how zoned out he gets when he plays with toys that blink and make sounds; imagine how much more when he plays with iphones. So no, he won’t be getting his own phone until WAAAAY later.

    1. I am so glad I’m not crazy! We limit screen time as well, maybe 2 hours a week if that. I use it as an emergency distraction, if I need to make dinner, make an important phone call, etc.

  3. No, you are not the only one! I feel the same way. I don’t have an iPhone, neither does DH. The closest I have is an iPod Touch, which the girls do not use. Elise will steal it from me and TRY to use it, but I take it away right away. It floors me that a 4 year old would have his own iPhone. Just ridiculous.

    My girls also don’t play on the computer. When I toured Adriana’s preschool, I saw they had two computers in the room that the 3-4 year olds can use by themselves. That shocked me, too! My kids are going to be so behind when it comes to technology.

  4. Nope, not just you…nico certainly has apps on my iPad…but it might be twenty minutes here, then not for a week or two…except on planes and the ER! And if I need to increase that, it will only be for therapy apps.

  5. Definitely not the only one. I have an almost ten year old and he doesn’t even have his own game system yet. We have a family Wii and thats it. There’s plenty of time for that stuff..

Leave a comment