Choosing to give choices

About a year ago I did some research on parenting techniques and found it to be super overwhelming. I asked around to my Mom friends and the book that come most highly recommended to me was Love and Logic.  While I like a lot of things about Love and Logic there are a few thing that just don’t work for us, but giving choices is ingenious!  I started with Gabe around age 2 and he was really receptive, my life seemed to get easier almost over night.  I gave him 2 options to pick from at every meal, 2 options to books to pick from at bedtime, well… 2 options to pick from most of the time.  Then as he got older it started to get a bit harder, I am sure some of you  remember the Piggy Back post from the summer.  So again I went to my fellow Mom friends and asked to help me out.  What do you do when there doesn’t seem to be a choice to give?  How did you get creative with your choices?  I got a few answers…

The choices don’t always have to be things they can be about times for example when we are ready to leave the YMCA I ask Gabe if he wants to leave now or in 5 minutes.   I also started giving choices about where certain tasks need to take place “Would you like to get dressed in the bathroom or in your room?”  I also had a few friends nice enough to share some of the more comical choices they gave their children.

“Would you like to walk to the car or crawl like a dog?”  (Of course they crawled)

“Would you like cereal for breakfast of cat food?”

“Do you want to take a bubble bath or an ice cube bath?”  In the dead of winter.

“Do you want to ___ (brush teeth, pick up your cars, etc.), or do you want me to tickle you to death?”

Anyone have any funnies to add???

 

One thought on “Choosing to give choices

Leave a comment