Labor Day Virtual 5 mile Recap

Yesterday I ran my first ever virtual run!  Laura from Mommy Run Fast was nice enough to organize the whole race for FREE.  I was also lucky enough to be able to run it with a member of my local Moms RUN This Town Chapter (Hi Angela.)

We met up at 9:45 yesterday, it was really not the best day to run… it was 80 degrees and 100% humidity, but we were going to do it!  Pushing our strollers weighted down with toddlers, drinks, toys, sunscreen, and enough snack for an army we made our way for a flat 5 mile run.  Before I go any farther let me tell you I am NOT fast, I consider my self a runner and I have no shame in walking when I need to.  We ending up taking to short walk break before the 4.5 mile point, but ran most of it feeling hot, sweaty, stocky, and glad to be out running together.  At the 4.5 mile point we stopped to let our kids get out and play at the playground, because that’s what you do when they are both screaming and trying to climb out of the jogger!  After a few minutes it was back to the pavement to complete our last half mile, when finished in 1:14:10.
It wasn’t an easy run for this Momma, but it was made easier by running with a buddy, someone to keep me going when I wanted to stop.  That’s another reason virtual races are so great, you sign up then you are committed to run the distance!

If you’re looking for some running pals checkout Moms RUN This Town they have chapters all over the country!  And please checkout Laura’s Blog Mommy Run Fast for some great motivation to keep running or start running!

2 thoughts on “Labor Day Virtual 5 mile Recap

  1. I’m so glad you got to participate! Yes- running with a buddy helps so much, and I love that virtual races push us all to go farther or faster than we would on our own. Nice job pushing through that heat!

  2. Good for you for running in 80 degrees with 100% humidity!!! Yikes! That’s brutal! Walk a little, break a little for the baby/toddler or whatever. It definitely still counts!

Leave a Reply

