Busy Mom’s Guide to Joining a Gym

We all want to be fit and healthy, I mean no one ever says “I can’t wait to eat garbage and feel fat!”  I have written a few post about working out and how I fit it into our routine.  The best advice I can give is to join a gym that ACTUALLY fits your needs.  Before signing on the dotted line read my 3 steps to finding the right gym for you.

  1. Find a gym that you can afford!  It sounds so easy, right?  But if you aren’t careful many gyms have long contracts or expense sign up fees.  Be sure to ask about discounts based on income.  Many gyms also offers savings if you pay in advance or use a checking account and set up an automatic payment.
  2. Location, location, location.  As parents our time is limited as it is so adding long drives just won’t work. The gym need to be close to your home or work place.  If you have to drive 30 minutes each way to get there you WILL NOT go.
  3. Childcare.  This is the most important step for me and most stay at home moms, someone has to watch your kids while you workout!  There are plenty of places that offer free or cheap childcare. This is the one option I am willing to pay more for.  I can’t workout early because my Husband leaves at 4:30 am for work and by the evening I am too exhausted to thinking about going to the gym.   Be sure to check the hours of the childcare room, some places are only open for a few hours a day; if you can’t make it during those hours it isn’t worth paying extra for.

Of course there are other things to consider when searching for the perfect gym, but these are the top 3 for busy Moms.  Also important to note that a gym membership does you no good if you never go, don’t be afraid just go!  Trust me no one is staring at the new girl! (Or maybe they are because you’re Smokin’ Hot!)

Leave a Reply

