My Parenting Style

Lately I find myself questioning my parenting technique.  Having a two year old in really trying and most days I am ready to pull my hair out by 10 am.  I had decided to use a modified version of Love and Logic Parenting.  My plan is to stick it out for at least 2 weeks and see what results it yields.

The short version of Love and Logic is simple, give kids choices and hold them accountable for their actions.  No spanking, yelling, or threatening; just follow through with the choice the child made.  Another big part of L&L is using natural consequences, for example “Billy please don’t throw you car.” Billy continues to throw the car “Billy, the car has to be put up, How sad you made a poor choice, maybe tomorrow you will make a better one.”  The car goes in “Toy time out” for however long the parent decides.  I have used this natural consequences method with Little Guy and had great results.

The really tough part and L&L is that is takes a TON of Patience.  I mean a TON!   I really have trouble giving Little Guy choices ALL. DAY. LONG.  Sometime I feel like there is no choice to be made, there is only one way to do it.  That is when I have to get creative.  Last week we were leaving the pool and of course Little Guy didn’t want to go.  I had to come up with something quick so I said “Do you want to skip to the car or ride piggy back?”  “Piggy back!” he shouted.   So there I was pushing the stroller with Princess Girl in it and the pool bag, carrying Little Guy on my back, all the way to the car.  SUre I got a few stares. but no one was crying!  It was a small victory for me!

2 thoughts on “My Parenting Style

  1. Trish says:

    The funniest thing since we’ve been using L&L techniques came yesterday morning.. I told Kieran to do something that I knew he didn’t want to do and he just responded with “Mommy has given Kieran lots of choices today, now it’s Mommy’s time to make a choice”… I about died laughing .. secretly, of course ;P

  2. Meghann says:

    It’s funny how these little creatures can make you SO frustrated, happy, confused, and tired, all in the same breath!
    I use very similar tactics with Eric. It’s hard to remember the choices ALL the time, but the more I forget, the more we both get frustrated.
    Consistancy is key! Good Luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

