Put some gratitude in your attitude

I am always trying to think of things that made me smile each day and there are plenty of them.  Just yesterday I was reading Cooking Light (of all things) and it had a great article about really trying to be a happier person.  We as moms seem to always put ourselves last, for example Little Guy has had 3 hairs cuts since the last one I got.  So don’t I deserve a hair cut?  Wouldn’t I feel like a million bucks with a new style?  Of course, but I tell myself it’s no big deal because my kid looks good with his super cute hair cut. 

Anyway back to the article.  The writer would get up each morning and email a friend a list of 5 things to be thankful for each day.  So simple really, easy to do while having your morning java, a no brainer.  So I am starting a gratitude email club with some of my friends.  Anyone that wants to join in is welcome.  I get up each morning and list out my 5 things I am grateful for and hit send.  Each night or at naptime I sit down and read everyone else’s list.  It’s like a 2 for 1, I feel better about sharing my list and I get joy from reading theirs.

I encourage you to try it out, even if you only list the 5 items on a notepad for your eyes only.  Sitting down and remembering what matters most is the first step to making us happier moms.

Leave a Reply

