Dinner in a hurry

Dinner at our house is the only time our family actually gets to sit together and talk about our day.  The last thing I want to do is stress over making a gourmet meal and ruin our quality time at the table.   So a few months ago I decided to start planning my dinner menu for the month and even though it sounds hard it is really fast and easy.  First thing I did was grab a nice big calender and a few good cookbooks.  I filled in the first few days with recipes I had already made and I knew my guys would eat and I tried to add one new recipe to each week.  I also try to make sure there is a mix of pasta, chicken and beef each week so we don’t get bored.  Once I have most of my dinners picked out I fill in the gaps with frozen premade meals, frozen pizza, or a box meal.

Here are a few of my favorite super easy dinners:

Chicken Tacos:

Put 2 chicken breast in slow cooker with seasoned salt, cilantro, chili powder, and garlic.

Cook on low for 5 hours and shred, add 1 small can of green enchilada sauce cook 30 minutes more.

Make 1 bag of Mahatma spanish rice and serve with flour tortillas and shredded cheese.

Calzone:

1 can of refrigerated pizza dough, open and spread center with pasta sauce.

Fill center with ham, salami, and shredded cheese and pinch closed.

Bake for 17- 20 minutes

The calzones are great because you can fill them with anything.  We use veggies, ham, salami, chicken, or taco meat.

These are staples at my house.  Both my guys love them because they are filling and I love them because they are fast and very budget friendly.

Leave a Reply

